Skip to main content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Awards
  6. /
  7. Photographer becomes first to win Journalist of the Year at the Scottish Press Awards

Press Association photographer Jane Barlow tonight became the first ever photographer to win the coveted Journalist of the Year category at the Scottish Press Awards for her “moving” last public pictures of the Queen before her death.

Jane, who also won News Photographer of the Year, was praised by judges for her “stunning” portrait of the monarch at Balmoral as the royal met then Prime Minister Liz Truss in September last year, shortly before her death later that month aged 96.

Jane Barlow (centre) with VisitScotland Head Of Corporate Communications Carolyn Churchill and judges’ chair Richard Neville

Other big winners at the 44th annual awards included the Scottish Daily Mail, who won the prestigious Newspaper of the Year and Journalism Team of the Year for its coverage of the Queen’s death and overall consistency as a product.

The Sunday Post also won Sunday Newspaper of the Year for the second year running, for its quality reporting and hard-hitting journalism.

Chair of Judges, Richard Neville, the former Head of News Brands at DC Thomson and now founding director of Neville Robertson Communications, praised Jane for her award win.

He said: “It’s easy to forget that journalism is not just about words but everything which goes into creating and conveying a story and this journalist was on hand to document for posterity the final act of a truly extraordinary life which came to define the life of the United Kingdom.

“Her stunning and moving portrait of the late Queen told a story it would take hundreds of words to tell and how it came about became a story in itself. Jane’s work had impact not just across Scotland but right around the world.”

It was also a triumphant evening for Marion Scott of the Sunday Post, who was named Reporter of the Year and the winner of the Nicola Barry Award for the second year running, as well as the Scoop of the Year prize.

The Orcadian was named the Weekly Newspaper of the Year, chosen by a panel of Scottish daily newspaper editors, for how it continually punched above its weight – producing a paper and website packed with strong news stories.

A total of 33 awards crediting the vital work of print and digital journalism were announced, with The Herald scooping the Campaign of the Year title for its important campaign calling for Scotland to have a Covid Memorial.

Conor Matchett was named Political Journalist of the Year for his work at The Scotsman, and the paper also won the Front Page of the Year category.

First Minister Humza Yousaf handed out the prestigious Lifetime Achievement award to ex-Sunday Herald editor Richard Walker, who helped launch pro-independence title The National.

The Scottish Sun won the final prize of the night – The Chairperson’s Award – to reflect its comprehensive coverage of last year’s council elections,

Richard Neville was joined by 40 independent judges from across the Scottish media, communications and public affairs industries. Former BBC Scotland newsreader Jackie Bird hosted the event at the DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Central.

The 44th Scottish Press Awards are sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland, Diageo, VisitScotland, Edrington, Openreach, Glenmorangie, The Law Society of Scotland, Muckle Media, Registrars of Scotland, Women in Journalism Scotland, BIG Partnership, Event Consultants Scotland and Scottish Newspaper Society.

Scottish Newspaper Society Director John McLellan said: “Jane Barlow’s portrait of the Queen was a remarkable image even before we knew it was to be Her Majesty’s last, and I’m absolutely delighted Jane has received such an accolade for capturing a moment in national history with such a moving, human image.

“All our winners are testament to the highest standards and traditions of the Scottish Press and this year’s event has been truly memorable in so many ways, and unquestionably one of the best in its 44 years.”

The full list of winners can be found here