Skip to main content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Awards
  6. /
  7. 44th Scottish Press Awards finalists unveiled

The highly anticipated shortlist for Weekly Newspaper of the Year has today been announced by the Scottish Press Awards, one of 34 categories for which the finalists have been unveiled.

The awards cover politics, business, sport, and the arts and include the coveted Scoop of the Year award, recognising excellence in national, regional and digital journalism from across Scotland.

The five shortlisted weeklies are; The Strathspey & Badenoch Herald, The Orcadian, Largs & Millport Weekly News, The Dunfermline Press and The East Lothian Courier.

There are no shortlists for Daily and Sunday Newspapers of the Year or Journalist of the Year, with the winners decided by a panel of independent judges and announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday, June 7, 2023.

This year’s judging panel was led by Richard Neville, the former Head of News Brands at DC Thomson and now founding director of Neville Robertson Communications.

“This year’s finalists demonstrated great skill and dedication and showed that the weekly market remains as strong as ever,” said Richard.

“It is never easy to whittle down the entries and my thanks go to the team of senior editors who performed this difficult task. The shortlisted titles all serve their readers extremely well and I hope all our finalists will be able to celebrate their achievements on the night of the awards whether they take the top prize or not.”

Scottish Newspaper Society director John McLellan said: “The Scottish Newspaper Society is extremely grateful to Richard Neville and all our judges for giving up their valuable time to select our finalists, and to our sponsors and our programme coordinators Event Consultants Scotland, who without whom the awards would not be the great success they are.”

The 44th Scottish Press Awards are sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland, Diageo, VisitScotland, Edrington, Openreach, Glenmorangie, The Law Society of Scotland, Muckle Media, Women in Journalism Scotland, BIG Partnership, Registrars of Scotland. Event Consultants Scotland and Scottish Newspaper Society.

The awards ceremony and dinner will take place at the DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Central on Wednesday, June 7, 2023

The full list of finalists can be found here