



#### Press release - for immediate use

## First winners announced at 39th annual Scottish Press Awards

Winners of the 39<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards are being unveiled at a ceremony at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central tonight (Thursday 26<sup>th</sup> April 2018).

The first set of awards\* announced has seen The Times scoop four prizes, with Kenny Farquharson being awarded both Interviewer of the Year and Columnist of the Year. Gurpreet Narwan won Young Journalist of the Year, while Greig Cameron was awarded Financial/Business Journalist of the Year for the wide variety of issues he covered which led the business news agenda at multiple points throughout the last year.

Other winners include the East Lothian Courier, which was named Weekly Newspaper of the Year, Sean Wallace from the Aberdeen Evening Express was awarded Sports News Writer of the Year, Jane Barlow from Press Association won Sports Photographer of the Year and David Clegg from the Daily Record was named Political Journalist of the Year.

The full list of winners so far is as follows:

Award	Winner	Publication
Young Journalist of the Year	Gurpreet Narwan	The Times
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	East Lothian Courier	East Lothian Courier
Arts and Entertainment Journalist of the Year	Peter Ross	The Herald
Interviewer of the Year	Kenny Farquharson	The Times
Political Journalist of the Year	David Clegg	Daily Record
Columnist of the Year	Kenny Farquharson	The Times
Sports Columnist of the Year	Gary Keown	Scottish Mail on Sunday
Financial/Business Journalist of the Year	Greig Cameron	The Times
Feature Writer of the Year	Peter Ross	The Guardian
Sports Feature Writer of the Year	Aidan Smith	The Scotsman
Sports News Writer of the Year	Sean Wallace	Aberdeen Evening Express
News Photographer of the Year	Wattie Cheung	Freelance
Sports Photographer of the Year	Jane Barlow	Press Association
Outstanding Digital Journalist of the Year	Billy Briggs	The Ferret

<sup>\*</sup> The full list of this year's winners will be announced later tonight

Photographs to follow from Jeff Holmes



#### ENDS//

Issued by BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For more information, please contact Lauren Gaston on 0141 333 9585, 07710 700 322, or <a href="mailto:lauren.gaston@bigpartnership.co.uk">lauren.gaston@bigpartnership.co.uk</a>

#### Notes to editors:

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <a href="https://www.scotns.org.uk">www.scotns.org.uk</a>





#### Press release - for immediate use

# The Sunday Post triumphs at 39th annual Scottish Press Awards

It was a triumphant night for The Sunday Post at the 39<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards as the newspaper scooped five prizes during the ceremony held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central tonight (Thursday 26<sup>th</sup> April 2018).

The Dundee-based title won the prestigious Newspaper of the Year award and its lead reporter, Gordon Blackstock, was awarded Journalist of the Year, Reporter of the Year, Front Page of the Year and Scoop of the Year for his breaking story of the hundreds of Smyllum Park orphans buried in mass graves.

Dani Garavelli from Scotland on Sunday was awarded the Nicola Barry prize, a new accolade introduced this year by the Scottish Press Awards in honour of the journalist who died after a long illness. The award was created for women journalists with the aim of encouraging campaigning journalism, which Nicola Barry, the award-winning columnist and feature writer, was known for during her career.

Other awards announced included the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was awarded to Tom Shields, The Sunday Mail won Journalism Team of the Year, and The Courier was awarded Campaign of the Year for its Frank's Law initiative.

The full list of winners from the second part of the evening is as follows:

Award	Winner	Publication/Description
Front Page of the Year	The Sunday Post	Hundreds of Orphans
Digital Team of the Year	Daily Record	
Journalism Team of the Year	The Sunday Mail	
Campaign of the Year	The Courier	Frank's Law
Scoop of the Year	Gordon Blackstock	The Sunday Post
Reporter of the Year	Gordon Blackstock	The Sunday Post
Nicola Barry Award	Dani Garavelli	Scotland on Sunday
Lifetime Achievement Award	Tom Shields	
Journalist of the Year	Gordon Blackstock	The Sunday Post
Newspaper of the Year	The Sunday Post	

Photographs to follow from Jeff Holmes

ENDS//



Issued by BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For more information, please contact Lauren Gaston on 0141 333 9585, 07710 700 322, or <a href="mailto:lauren.gaston@bigpartnership.co.uk">lauren.gaston@bigpartnership.co.uk</a>

### **Notes to editors:**

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <a href="https://www.scotns.org.uk">www.scotns.org.uk</a>