

## Press release - for immediate use

# First winners announced at 37<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards

Winners of the 37<sup>th</sup> annual Scottish Press Awards are being unveiled at a ceremony at Glasgow's Radisson Blue Hotel tonight (Thursday 21<sup>st</sup> April).

The first winners\* include Financial/Business Journalist of the Year, which has been awarded to Erikka Askeland from The Press and Journal.

Winners of individual awards also include Sarah Vesty from The Daily Record, who was named Young Journalist of the Year and Chris Deerin from the Scottish Daily Mail, who was awarded Columnist of the Year.

Sports Feature Writer of the Year was awarded to Jonathan Brocklebank at The Herald and Weekly Newspaper of the Year went to the Fife Free Press for the second year running.

The full list of winners so far is as follows:

Award	Winner	Publication
Sports Photographer of the Year	Jeff Holmes	Featured in the Glasgow Evening Times, Scotland on Sunday and The Sunday Times
News Photographer of the Year	Jeff Mitchell	Getty Images
Cartoonist of the Year	Steven Camley	The Herald
Young Journalist of the Year	Sarah Vesty	The Daily Record
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Fife Free Press	
Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year	Matt Bendoris	The Scottish Sun
Interviewer of the Year	Patricia Kane	Scottish Mail on Sunday
Political Journalist of the Year	David Clegg	The Daily Record
Columnist of the Year	Chris Deerin	Scottish Daily Mail
Financial/Business Journalist of the Year	Erikka Askeland	The Press and Journal
Feature Writer of the Year	Jonathan Brocklebank	Scottish Daily Mail
Sports Feature Writer of the Year	Hugh MacDonald	The Herald
Sports News Writer of the Year	Keith Jackson	The Daily Record
Innovation of the Year	Merry Christmas Loyal Customer	The Evening Telegraph Dundee

<sup>\*</sup> The full list of this year's winners will be announced later tonight.

Photographs to follow from Andy Barr.

## ENDS//

Issued by The BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For interviews or more information, please contact Lauren Gaston on 0141 333 9585, 07710 700 322 or <a href="mailto:firstname@bigpartnership.co.uk">firstname@bigpartnership.co.uk</a>

# Editor's notes

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <a href="https://www.scottishpressawards.co.uk">www.scottishpressawards.co.uk</a>.



#### Press release - for immediate use

# Daily Record wins big at 37<sup>th</sup> Scottish Press Awards

The Daily Record was last night (April 21, 2016) crowned Scotland's Newspaper of the Year for 2016 at the 37th annual Scottish Press Awards.

The newspaper also scooped four other winning trophies for Campaign of the Year, Sports News Writer of the Year, Political Journalist of the Year and Young Journalist of the Year.

Winners of major individual awards also included Mark Macaskill from The Sunday Times, who was named both Journalist of the Year and Reporter of the Year.

The Daily Record won Campaign of the Year for its coverage of the refugee crisis and the war on terror campaign #WeHaveRoom.

Commenting on the Daily Record's Newspaper of the Year win, Chairman of the judges, Austin Lafferty said: "A year after the referendum, the Daily Record is engaged by the power brokers, has a mass readership and looks after emerging talent in the industry. The Daily Record has survived the decline of the Labour party without falling, and is transcending the Scottish political landscape as well as building an aggressive new media strategy, keen to embrace our digital future."

Weekly Newspaper of the Year went to the Fife Free Press for the second year running.

The awards are organised by the Scottish Newspaper Society (SNS). SNS director John McLellan said: "As always, the awards demonstrate the excellence of the journalism on display every day in Scotland, confirming the role of Scottish newspapers as key agendasetters, opinion-formers and news-breakers with the powerful combination of print, online and mobile delivery. All our finalists tonight are worthy of heart-felt congratulations."

The full list of winners is as follows:

Award	Winner	Publication
Sports Photographer of the Year	Jeff Holmes	Featured in the Glasgow Evening Times, Scotland on Sunday and The Sunday Times
News Photographer of the Year	Jeff Mitchell	Getty Images
Cartoonist of the Year	Steven Camley	The Herald
Young Journalist of the Year	Sarah Vesty	The Daily Record
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Fife Free Press	
Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year	Matt Bendoris	The Scottish Sun
Interviewer of the Year	Patricia Kane	Scottish Mail on Sunday
Political Journalist of the Year	David Clegg	The Daily Record
Columnist of the Year	Chris Deerin	Scottish Daily Mail
Financial/Business Journalist of the Year	Erikka Askeland	The Press and Journal

Feature Writer of the Year	Jonathan Brocklebank	Scottish Daily Mail
Sports Feature Writer of the Year	Hugh MacDonald	The Herald
Sports News Writer of the Year	Keith Jackson	The Daily Record
Innovation of the Year	Merry Christmas Loyal Customer	The Evening Telegraph Dundee
Front Page of the Year	Mince! By the Edinburgh Evening News	
Journalism Team of the Year	The Scottish Sun for the M9 Police Call Centre Scandal	
Campaign of the Year	The Daily Record for the 'Refugee Crisis and The War on Terror' hashtag We Have Room	
Scoop of the Year	The Sunday Mail for The Forgotten Suspect by Jim Wilson and Brendan McGinty	
Reporter of the Year	Mark Macaskill	The Sunday Times
Lifetime Achievement Award	Bruce Waddell	
Journalist of the Year	Mark Macaskill	The Sunday Times
Newspaper of the Year	The Daily Record	

Photographs to follow from Andy Barr.

# ENDS//

Issued by The BIG Partnership on behalf of the Scottish Press Awards. For interviews or more information, please contact Lauren Gaston on 0141 333 9585, 07710 700 322 or <a href="mailto:firstname.lastname@bigpartnership.co.uk">firstname.lastname@bigpartnership.co.uk</a>

## **Editor's notes**

Established by the Scottish newspaper industry in 1978, the Scottish Press Awards is a prestigious annual event which showcases the best journalistic talent in Scotland. More information can be found at <a href="https://www.scottishpressawards.co.uk">www.scottishpressawards.co.uk</a>.